Traditions Inn features personalized dining with a friendly atmosphere. The restaurant and pub are housed in a 1890s Victorian style house with stained glass windows, 10 foot ceilings, beautiful quartersawn oak woodwork, crown dental molding, raised panel pocket doors, original mantel and fireplace, and ornate open stairway.
Closed to the public. Catering available.
- Proudly serving CERTIFIED ANGUS BEEF™
- Only 8 percent of beef meets the highest standards to become the CERTIFIED ANGUS BEEF™ brand. Stop in today and try one of our CERTIFIED ANGUS BEEF™ steaks: Ribeye "Cowboy" Steak, Sirloin Steak, New York Strip, Filet Mignon, and Prime Rib.
- Unique specialty dishes
- Fresh garden produce & herbs from our own garden
- Pastries & desserts made fresh daily in house
- Menu that changes with the seasons
- Member of Nebraska Restaurant Association
- Member of Chamber of Commerce and Downtown Business Association
- Gift certificates available
Traditions Inn was established in 1998 by Pat and Scott Mueller. The restaurant and pub are located on the corner of 29th ave and 13th st. in historic downtown Columbus.
The business consists of two houses joined by a sunlit conservatory and outdoor garden area. The corner Victorian style home was built in 1890 by Richard S. Dickinson. Mr. Dickinson was twice Mayor of Columbus and owned a newspaper and large agricultural holdings in Platte County. Other previous owners include the Farnsworths and the Johansens. The Farnsworth's rented out the five upstairs bedrooms to various boarders and lived on the first floor. The house was later made into two apartments by the Johansens. Judy Heine (whose husband was a local physician), bought the house in 1968 and restored much of it to it's original granduer. She opened a tea room and boutique gift shop and ran both until 1998 as the Muffin Shoppe.
Unique architectural features of the house include original quartersawn oak woodwork, three sets of raised panel pocket doors, 10 foot ceilings, crown dentil moulding, stained glass windows, open stairway with turned spindles, and coal burning fireplace with ceramic tile and carved wood mantel.
The conservatory which links the two homes together was built in 1986,along with an enclosed garden and gazebo area.
Dr. Maxwell, a local dentist built the west house, which is a Dutch Colonial style in the 1920's for his family home. The house has 9 foot ceilings, and its original hardwood floors, french doors with beveled glass and built in fireplace and cabinets.
Pat and Scott Mueller